November 28, 2021


The travel folks

Cynthia Leitich Smith Named Winner of the 2021 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature

3 min read

Press Launch

up to date: Oct twenty, 2020 twenty:00 CDT

​World Literature These days, the University of Oklahoma’s award-successful magazine of intercontinental literature and tradition, now announced Cynthia Leitich Smith as the winner of the 2021 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature.

Awarded in alternating several years with the prestigious Neustadt Worldwide Prize for Literature, the biennial NSK Prize recognizes excellent accomplishment in the planet of children’s and youthful grownup literature.

Leitich Smith is a New York Instances and Publishers Weekly best-selling YA creator of the Tantalize sequence and Feral trilogy. She was named Writer of the 12 months by Wordcraft Circle of Native Writers and Storytellers for Rain Is Not My Indian Name and received the American Indian Youth Literature Award for Youthful Adult Publications for Hearts Unbroken, which also was named to YALSA’s Amelia Bloomer checklist and gained the Foreword Assessments Silver Medal in Youthful Adult Fiction. In addition, she is the creator-curator of Heartdrum, an imprint of HarperCollins Children’s Publications, which will launch its 1st checklist in wintertime 2021.

Leitich Smith life in Austin, Texas, and is a citizen of the Muscogee Creek Country.

“A effective and excellent decision to gain the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature,” reported RC Davis-Undiano, govt director of WLT. “Cynthia Leitich Smith is a writer opening doorways for other indigenous writers. “She is also discovering approaches to open up individuals doorways wider for some others to stick to her in,” Davis reported.

Monica Brown, an award-successful creator of many picture textbooks, such as Waiting for the Biblioburro, nominated Leitich Smith for the NSK Prize and chose her novel Hearts Unbroken as the consultant text for the jury to read. Hearts Unbroken tells the story of a Native American female who takes advantage of her placement as her school’s newspaper editor to report on racial tensions that erupt in a small Kansas city above casting in a neighborhood creation of The Wizard of Oz.

“How uncommon it is that a writer who has specified us so many essential, gorgeous, entertaining, and empowering textbooks has also specified these types of an massive reward to other writers, educators, and to children’s literature as a entire,” Brown wrote in her nominating statement.

Kathy Neustadt, symbolizing the Neustadt spouse and children, made the announcement through the once-a-year Neustadt Lit Fest, which is currently being held almost this calendar year, in celebration of Ismail Kadare, winner of the 2020 Neustadt Worldwide Prize for Literature. The upcoming lit fest will be specified in Leitich Smith’s honor in the drop of 2021.

Highly respected within just the literary local community for its recognition of excellence, the NSK Prize was 1st specified in 2003 to inaugural recipient Mildred D. Taylor, creator of Roll of Thunder, Listen to My Cry. More earlier winners have integrated Brian Doyle (2005), Katherine Paterson (2007), Vera B. Williams (2009), Virginia Euwer Wolff (2011), Naomi Shihab Nye (2013), Meshack Asare (2015), Marilyn Nelson (2017) and Margarita Engle (2019).

An esteemed panel of authors selects equally the finalists and the winner dependent only on literary advantage as perfectly as the perceived importance of an artist’s total contribution to children’s literature. NSK winners are awarded $35,000, a silver medallion and a certification of recognition.


Terri Stubblefield
Promoting/Publicity, World Literature These days
(405) 325-4531
[email protected]

Robert Con Davis-Undiano
Executive Director, World Literature These days
(405) 325-4531
[email protected]

Supply: World Literature These days All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.